The team

Current research team members

Principal Investigators

  • Alison Elliott (;
  • Moses Muwanga (Medical Superintendent, Entebbe Hospital)

Project Leader

  • Swaib Lule

Head nurse

  • Florence Akello

Internal Study Monitor

  • Mirriam Akello


  • Benigna Namara
  • Dorothy Aibo
  • Milly Namutebi
  • Irene Nabawesi
  • Chris Zziwa


  • Barbara Apule
  • Josephine Tumusiime
  • Esther Nakazibwe
  • Florence Akello
  • Caroline Ninsiima
  • Grace Kamukama
  • Susan Iwala
  • Ann Resty Nakibombo

Administration & support

  • Moses Kizza
  • Samsi Nansukusa
  • Robert Kantu
  • Abdul Kakomo
  • Statistics and Data

Statistics and data management

  • Emily Webb, trial statistician
  • Lawrence Muhangi
  • Hellen Akurut
  • David Sserunjogi
  • Fatuma Nalukenge

Clinical laboratory

  • Gloria Oduru
  • Grace Kabami
  • Prossy Kabuubi
  • Emanuel Niwagaba
  • Elson Abayo

Immunology laboratory

  • Stephen Cose
  • Robert Tweyongyere
  • Barbara Nerima
  • Dennison Kizito
  • Patrice Mawa
  • Angela Nalwoga
  • Gyaviira Nkurunungi
  • Joy Kabagenyi
  • Grace Nabakooza
  • Daniel Otekat

Field team

  • Robert Kizindo
  • Moses Sewankambo
  • Dennis Nsubuga
  • Sam Kiwanuka
  • Fred Kiwudhu
  • Saadh Mwagalanyi
  • Samuleson Nambaale
  • Richard Walusimbi

Entebbe Hospital staff

Entebbe Hospital staff are key members of the team – they had an especially big role in recruitment of the study participants at the antenatal clinic, delivery of the babies, and provision of immunisations.

EMaBS community field workers

EMaBS community field workers are critical members of the team.  They were chosen by the local council executives of each village in the EMaBS catchment area.  They followed up EMaBS children twice a month to age five years.  They received initial training, with certification, and attended meetings monthly for updates. They were each given a bicycle to help them in the work.  They still provide valuable support to EMaBS with follow up activities and helping us to keep in touch with the community.

Comments are closed.